President

Professor Martin Goodman

MA DPhil Oxf; FBA

martin.goodman@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Fellow in Jewish History in the Graeco-Roman Period; Professor of Jewish Studies, University of Oxford; Professorial Fellow, Wolfson College, Oxford. Special Interests: Jewish history of the Second Temple and Talmudic periods. Professor Martin Goodman, was appointed President of the Centre from 30 June 2014. Professor Goodman has served as Professor of Jewish Studies in the University of Oxford since 1991 and has been a Fellow of the Centre since 1986. (Professor Goodman is on research leave in Michaelmas Term 2017)

 

View full profile here...

Fellow

Adriana Jacobs

Dr Adriana X Jacobs

BA (William and Mary), PhD (Princeton)

adriana.jacobs@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Fellow in Modern Hebrew Literature; Cowley Lecturer in Modern Hebrew Literature, University of Oxford; Fellow, St Cross College, Oxford. Modern Hebrew Literature Home page

Fellow

Professor Alison Salvesen

MA DPhil Oxf

alison.salvesen@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Polonsky Fellow in Early Judaism and Christianity; Professor of Early Judaism and Christianity, University of Oxford; Tutor in Oriental Studies, Mansfield College. Early Jewish and Christian translation and interpretation of scripture; Jewish Aramaic - Talmud, Targum Jewish Greek - Septuagint and Minor Versions Home page

Fellow

Dr César Merchán-Hamann

BSc Universidad de los Andes MA, PhD Lond

cesar.merchan-hamann@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Fellow Librarian/ Director of the Leopold Muller Memorial Library Curator of Hebraica and Judaica at the Bodleian

Fellow

Professor David Rechter

BA (Hons) MA (Hons) Melbourne, PhD Heb Univ Jerusalem

david.rechter@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Ricardo Fellow in Modern Jewish History; Professor of Modern Jewish History, University of Oxford; Research Fellow in Modern Jewish History, St. Antony's College Modern Jewish History, particularly Habsburg Empire. Home page

Fellow

Professor Hugh Williamson

BA, MA, PhD, DD, FBA, OBE

hugh.williamson@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Professor Hugh Williamson, Emeritus Regius Professor of Hebrew at Oxford is Acting President of the Centre, Michaelmas Term 2017

Fellow

Professor Jan Joosten

PhD (Jerusalem), ThD (Brussels), HDR (Strasbourg)

jan.joosten@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Regius Professor of Hebrew, Student of Christ Church

Fellow

Dr Jeremy Schonfield

BA Hons East Ang, PhD Camb

jeremy.schonfield@blueyonder.co.uk

Mason Lecturer and Supernumerary Fellow; Rabbi John D Rayner Reader in Liturgy, Leo Baeck College.   Literary-critical approaches to the Liturgy   Home page  

Fellow

Dr John Screnock

PhD, University of Toronto

john.screnock@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Junior Research Fellow OCHJS and Kennicott Fellow in Hebrew, University of Oxford.


Research Interests: Ancient Hebrew, the development of texts in Jewish antiquity, Dead Sea Scrolls, Septuagint   Home page

Fellow

Dr Miri Freud-Kandel

MA PhD Camb

miri.freud-kandel@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Fellow in Modern Judaism

Modern Jewish Theology

Home page

Fellow

Dr Sara Hirschhorn

BA (Hons) (Yale), MA PhD (Chicago)

sara.hirschhorn@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Sidney Brichto Fellow in Israel Studies; University Research Lecturer, in Israel Studies, University of Oxford; Junior Research Fellow, Wolfson College Modern Israeli and Middle East History Home page              

Fellow

Professor Yaacov Yadgar

BA, PhD (Bar-Ilan University)

yaacov.yadgar@area.ox.ac.uk

Stanley Lewis Professor of Israel Studies at Oxford and Fellow of St Anne's College. Professor Yadgar’s research interests include Jewish identity, religion, politics, and secularism.